KW Sextet

Kathrine Windfeld Sextet

Hannes Bennich (SE) - alto & soprano saxophone
Marek Konarski  (PL) - tenor saxophone

Tomasz Dabrowski (PL) - trumpet

Kathrine Windfeld (DK) - piano, compositions

Johannes Vaht (SE) - double bass

Henrik Holst Hansen (DK) - drums

Windfeld’s handpicked dream team of young Scandinavian and Polish musicians effortlessly combine playful precision with enthusiastic power.

The horn section offers a delicate blend of strong individual voices in a tight and sharp ensemble playing and breathtaking solo spots. Polish Marek Konarski and Tomasz Dabrowski and are internationally acknowledged and unique players, and Hannes Bennich is a more than promising young Swedish alto saxophonist and composer. They all contribute with a furious energy and versatility on high artistic level.


Bass player Johannes Vaht and drummer Henrik Holst Hansen, always deliver an intense performance with precision and creativity. As members of Kathrine Windfeld Big Band since 2014 they have developed an electric synergy, fuelled by Windfeld's powerful and delicate piano backing.

The group has performed at major stages in - an outside - Europe:

Vitoria Jazz (Spain)

Sesc Festival (Brazil)

Umbria Jazz Festival (Italy)

Ronnie Scott's Jazz Club (England)

Reykjavik Jazz Festival (Iceland)

Leopolis Jazz Festival (Ukraine)

Jazzopen Stuttgart (Germany)

Fasching, Stockholm Jazz Festival (Sweden)

Jazzhus Montmartre, Copenhagen (Denmark)



See Calendar for upcoming concerts

Download English press text 

Download Danish press text

Technical Rider

Hospitality Rider

Listen and watch on Youtube

Listen on Soundcloud 

Watch live gig from Ronnie Scott's Jazz Club London November 15 2021

Kathrine Windfeld Sextet at Jazzhus Montmartre Copenhagen, October 2021

Live review from Jazzopen Stuttgart  2021

"With the Danish pianist Kathrine Windfeld, one of the few acts in the festival program had previously which were fully assigned to the jazz genre caused quite a stir. Her sextet offers more than the piano trio plus wind section suggests, her modern jazz is state of the art and dares to venture out into the open."